The Shadow in the corner of my room

Adan Men
19 min readSep 21, 2022

Ever since I was a kid I’ve always noticed that there was a shadow in the corner of my room. It’s never done any harm to me or even tried to scare me, but it always stands there as if staring at me with curiosity. At first when I was a kid I would tell my mother about it and she would just tell me that it was my mind playing tricks on me and that I shouldn’t let it bother me. I was never scared of it in fact I took comfort in knowing it was looking at me it almost felt as if I had a friend that I only could see, so naturally I started talking to it. Each night my mother would come to tuck me in, she would kiss my forehead and tell me goodnight; she would then turn the lights off and I would see him appear it would always make me smile. As soon as my mother would leave the room I would start to talk to it with excitement.

“Hi, how are you tonight?” I would usually ask.

It non-moving would never respond but I found it to be okay I would just continue asking it questions.

“Why do you stand like that” me wondering of its odd posture.

Once my mother heard me talking to it and she rushed in to the room concerned looking around as if perhaps an intruder had snuck in.

“Who are you talking to?” she had asked.

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.