The NIGHT I STOLE Christmas

Adan Men
25 min readDec 24, 2023

Foot steps, the most natural sound in the world, something you commonly hear especially if you don’t live alone; though if you do and no one is around those steps are the most terrifying noises one could ever hear. I have been plagued with the most dreadful sounds of foot steps walking towards me since I was a teen, it happens at night, when I’m tucked into bed, feeling the gravity of the world forcing my eyes shut; foot steps seem to cautiously appear; the sound slowly creeping it’s way into my mind.

‘thud thud thud’

I try my best to not sleep, I wish I could say I suffer from insomnia or some other sleep disorder but unfortunately I don’t, instead I drink endless amounts of coffee each night not wanting to close my eyes. On average I get about 2 hours of rest and some how I’ve been able to make that work, my friends think I’ve gone mad but they don’t hear what I hear, those monstrous steps, they started off from a distance, slight shuffling like the sounds a kid would make when not wanting to walk forward; just dragging their feet, but eventually the timid steps transitioned into a more profound one, one with malevolence.

The sound usually awakes me sometime in the middle of the night, darkness still shrouding my room in a daze of mystery, as soon as my eyes shoot open there would be nothing; the once bewildering sounds that echoed with such…

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.