People are no longer SLEEPING

Adan Men
18 min readJan 20, 2024

I first noticed it in my wife, the dim light projecting from her screen, it was enough to illuminate our small bedroom, the light causing me to wake up; she told me that she just couldn’t sleep. We have always been a couple of routine, I wake up in the morning for work and she gets up along side me; preparing my coffee and lunch for the day. When I get home, it’s always the same, we eat dinner, talk about our day and then watch a little T.V. before heading off to bed. Like clock work by 9:15pm her soft breathing would flutter in the air, a sound that has always comfort me and it would only be mere minutes before I join her in the realm of slumber. It was very basic but it was us, a routine of an old married couple something I found bliss in, so when my wife first starting suffering from insomnia I didn’t think much about it; I figured like all things it would pass.

After about week it was clear her insomnia was not going away, in fact, it was getting worse; I would wake up to the sound of her cleaning the house —she hoped that physical work would make her tired but it didn’t. Instead the noise only frustrated me, usually I would snap at her telling her that I needed my rest, though I would feel bad after the moment understanding it wasn’t her fault. Like any one would we started off simple, I bought her some melatonin gummies but all it ever did was make her stomach hurt, she tried hot tea…

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.