Flash fiction HORROR story — A bedtime story for my son

Adan Men
2 min readMar 2, 2023

“…and when he opened his eyes he realized it was in the closet!” I told my son as I finished my climatic ending to my scary bed time story.

He pulled the covers over his small face doing his best to hide from my chilling tale. I softly chuckled underneath my breath seeing how enthralled he was in the world of spookiness I had laid before him.

“Alright son, it’s okay son it’s just a story there’s no monster in the closet.” I told him doing my best to comfort my now shaken young boy.

He remained unmoved and stayed hidden underneath the solace of his blanket, I then realized how terrified he was so I decided to get up and approach the closet door, wanting to convince him it was safe.

I opened the dimly lit closet door it creaking to life and he peeked his gaze from under the blanket only revealing his eyes, I presented to him the empty closet gesturing with my hands as if I was presenting some prize on a game show.

His withered shaky voice called out to me and I could feel my skin crawl as a sinister growl echoed throughout the room.

“But dad, it’s underneath; the bed”.

Thanks for reading :)

Copyright Adan Mendez (all rights reserved)

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.