Door Number 3

Adan Men
15 min readAug 12, 2023

I did my best to pry open the doors, I couldn’t get any of them to budge; for whatever reason door number 3 was calling out to me, a faint echo reverberating through my thoughts. I stared at the door for what seemed like an eternity but something in the back of my mind told me to look at the door knob and that’s when I noticed the odd design; it resembled a puzzle. I couldn’t tell you what it was perhaps intuition or something else but the revelation of how to open it came to me in what I could only describe as a dream while being awake. I grasped the glistening brass knob and turned to the right 3 times, then once to the left, a slight tingling erupted in my hand and finally I turned twice back to the right.

‘click’

The door unlocked, the electrifying sensation now pulsated up my arm and into my body, inundating me with pure bliss. I felt a bit hesitant but I had to know what was on the other side and for a moment something was telling me not to go in; to run away as far from this place as I could, but the little devil that resided on my other shoulder pricked at my mind with curiosity; so with wonderment I opened the door.

It creaked open as a pungent smell hit me like a bag of bricks, it was stale almost like old cardboard that had been left out in the rain. Either way, I proceeded in, to my dismay it was pure darkness; I couldn’t see a thing. I shouted out to…

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.