A story every week for my YouTube channel — WE have to leave our FRONT DOOR OPEN at NIGHT

Adan Men
9 min readMar 18, 2023

When I was a kid my parents had the strangest ritual, actually, it wasn’t just my parents, rather, it was my entire neighborhood; at night we all would leave our front doors wide open. The ceremonial event left me bewildered not understanding why we would do such a thing especially since during the day we kept our doors tightly shut. I know what you must be thinking, we probably did it because of the weather, but it didn’t matter if it was summer or fall; my father would still creep towards our front door cautiously and with clear hesitation protruding from his movements he would slowly unlatch the lock and creak the door open. I would just stand there in the corridor leading to our doorway and stare out into the desolated darkness that encapsulated our street, there were no lights no sounds just utter emptiness. To be honest, I was quite scared and I would contemplate the idea of closing the door but my father would watch me like a hawk warning me to never do such a thing, that in his words would lead to dire consequences. For being so young I couldn’t fathom such a horrid ending but in my mind the imaginary figures that danced around in front of me each night from the darkness terrified me more and unfortunately one day I found out what would happen when you did close the door.

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.