A scary story everyday til Halloween — The Run

Adan Men
2 min readOct 16, 2022

One of my most favorite things to do every morning is going on my daily run. Something about the sound of my own foot steps pounding against the pavement puts me at ease, the sound engulfing my surrounding, its very therapeutic. So today was like every other day, I woke up and brushed my teeth, stared at myself in the mirror for several seconds marveling at my own reflection and then me proceeding to put on my running clothes.

Heading out into the brisk morning air is something I’ve always adored, I revel in delight from the breeze brushing against my cheek; the world still asleep as the sun begins to peek above the horizon. I usually run for about an hour and normally when I’m done the sun has fully risen, its warmth bathing us in its beautiful glow, a perfect ending to a perfect run but this time getting back home something was different.

Me approaching my front yard I can see my neighbor from his porch looking at me with an expression of bewilderment, normally the older man smiles and waves but not this time and that’s when I look at my house and realize the front door is wide open. I remember locking the door before leaving, this had me at full alert not knowing what I should do or what I should expect. I cautiously approach the door, I inspect the frame; it doesn’t seem to be broken or anything like that, the door was merely ajar. I…

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.