A scary story everyday til Halloween — The List

Adan Men
4 min readOct 24, 2022

“It is time”, the words where softly spoken to me while I was awakened from my deep slumber. Cultivating any bodily responses I cautiously opened my eyes to see who was speaking to me; to my surprise it was a police officer; he told me it was ‘time to leave’. I was disconnected to the situation not knowing where he came from or where I was. My body creaked with a every movement as I lifted myself up with utter remorse.

My eyes adjusting to the blazing sun I was able to focus in on my surroundings, I was outside in what seemed to be a park, a bit of a crowd was forming around me. I was inundated with heavy gazes from the surrounding patrons; whispers could be heard “maybe its his time”. Still dazed; casually frozen images of last night started to spindle throughout my mind, clashes of beer mugs and the scent of cigarettes filled my memories; what a night I told myself.

“Hey buddy, time for you to go” the officer told me this time with more intensity.

I didn’t have the energy to stand; for a brief second I humored the idea of crawling; it made me chuckle, I can only imagine what the onlookers thought.

“I’m giving you to the count of…”, I interjected before the officer could finish his sentence.

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.