A scary story everyday til Halloween — The Blank SPOT

Adan Men
5 min readOct 22, 2022

I’m what you would call a “couch potato”, I like to sit down on my sofa with a beer and just stare at the television for hours. I only get up whenever its absolutely necessary and that usually consists of me using the bathroom or making myself a snack to eat just to return back to the couch and in front of my T.V. I was married once and my wife left me because of my sloth like behavior, she said I had no drive or sense of direction and that she wouldn’t waste anymore time on a “bum” like me, well at least I think that’s what she said; I was too busy watching some infomercial on how to in their words “slice and dice to perfection” the only thing I do remember was the door slamming shut with ferocity. Honestly I didn’t care, my world was simple, go to work and put in my eight hours and then come home and watch the world through my magical screen. There was always something on, the news that outraged me, the movie that made my eyes teary or a good ol’ fashion comedy to make my gut hurt from excessive laughing. It was a world that I loved and had no plans on changing, well that was until I saw the ‘blank spot’.

It was in the upper right corner of my television set, it was small and not noticeable until I saw it during an infomercial, the blank spot skewed one of the numbers when it came to the price of the cheap item.

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.