A scary story everyday til Halloween — Skin Deep

Adan Men
9 min readOct 19, 2022

“Listen its all about layers” Jessica told me while applying makeup on her face; her trying to teach me on how to contour.

“It will never work, my face is like big giant ugly square, no way will I ever look as beautiful as you” I told her with defeat protruding from my voice.

“Beauty is only skin deep” she quickly responded back.

I rolled my eyes at the idea of her using that tired cliche; something I’ve heard all my life, not just from her but from my parents as well. Jessica is my best friend and honestly probably one of the most beautiful girls I’ve ever seen in my life. I knew no amount of makeup would ever make me look a tenth of what she looked like even without make up, I was awkward, my face was not proportional; seemingly as if I were one giant Lego block instead of a person.

We grew up as neighbors living next to each other and when we were little we found ourselves in a world of similarities, our interest aligned with one another and we quickly became friends. As we entered high school something became very evident, Jessica grew into her glorious form while I was; well not so glorious. To make matters worse I was pencil thin with no shape at all and no matter how much I ate I just stayed thin, no visible curves in any areas of my body so I wore baggy clothes it was better…

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.