A scary story everyday til Halloween — My friend ‘Adam’ is an A.I.

Adan Men
5 min readOct 16, 2022

I’ve always been a bit of a loner, a guy who just likes the solace of my own solitude, endearing the seconds of silence especially after a longs day of work. Its not like I never tried to make friends before; I’ve always tried to be personable, listening to others while trying to mimic empathy. When I was a kid I did my best to get myself invited to birthday parties and sleep overs but the other kids never liked me; they didn’t pick on me or anything like that rather just ignored me and treated me as if I didn’t exist. As I got older my attempts of finding companionship dwindle, and I retreated into the confines of my own world; online, chatting with people who seemed to be in the same predicament as I were. As the years passed I found myself enjoying time alone and the few connections I did establish from online, until one day one of my online buddies told me about ‘Adam’.

“Who is that?” I remember typing back with a bit of curiosity.

They explained to me ‘Adam’ was some online chat software that could mimic an actual person with very distinct character traits. I was in disbelief from the prospect, I mean I’ve seen AI chat bots before and I wasn’t much impressed with those; but I figured why not give this ‘thing’ a try.

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.