A scary story — Apartment 19B

Adan Men
12 min readJan 18, 2023

“Ten” my friends screamed out loud with such enjoyment and adulation for the incoming year.

I found it difficult to muster up any energy to join in on the celebration, the new year wasn’t going to bring anything new for me; rather my world was going to be spun into a world of chaos.

“9” the crowd screamed out once again; this time even louder.

You see I will be going to prison in less than a week, I’m out on bail and I’ve already been convicted; guilty. My family did everything they could to keep me out but now my time has run out and the freedom that I’ve taken for granted all these years will now be absent.

“8”

My girlfriend tenderly caressed my hand in hers and as I turned to look down at her I saw a tear cascade down her beautiful face, causing my heart to stutter. I knew she was going to miss me, and I her; but fate is not kind to people like me.

“7, 6, 5, 4…” the chant continued as I aimlessly stared straight ahead into the void of emptiness lost in my own thoughts of oblivion.

“Look at me” Amy told me grabbing at my face pulling it down towards hers. Her eyes were glazed over in emotion and as her gaze sharply pierced through my heart I felt the darkness that had engulfed me as of lately take control and I pushed her away.

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.