A Pyrrhic victory

Adan Men
2 min readOct 27, 2021

--

Pyrrhic victory — won at too great a cost to have been worthwhile for the victor

I started to edit my stories and uploading them to Youtube, enjoy and visit my channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTnmfK2f7MmHmJcRIFA4I1g

Tired and defeated from the day I gather my courage and enter the arena; the political arena of thoughts and ideas. I look for an easy adversary; one that I can devour within 10 words.

Searching….topic after topic…nothing.

Finally I find one; someone that has no logic; no virtue; just someone screaming for attention. They’re grammar is off and no coherent message is revealed. I unsheathe my weapon and strike; ‘click clack’ with a few taps of my sword my prey is annihilated; dissolved into the realm of nihility, applause and praise soon follows; I smile. I feel adept and collected; its my destiny to win. With my victory at hand I add insult to injury and humiliate my opponent by laughing intensely with glee and my followers cheer.

Lost in my euphoric thoughts I exit the battle grounds and turn off my computer while feeling accomplished. As I lay down in bed waiting for my consciousness to slip into the world of slumber; I contemplate the short comings of our world; a world where people are no longer civil or polite; a world where the rude and vindictive are rewarded. I feel sick thinking of it all and remember how hard I try to be righteous and veracious. I want to unite us, I just want the world to be a better place.

Thanks for reading.

Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

(Copyright Adan Mendez. All rights reserved.)

--

--

Adan Men

If horror is your jam then my stories will have you on the edge of your seat, get ready to be enthralled into the world of the unexpected and unusual.